God Knows Me Completely

I have been doing a reading plan on my You Version Bible app developed by the Catalyst folks called “Known: A 21-Day Journey.” If you don’t have this app you should really check it out.  It’s a free app and, in addition to providing a variety of different translations of the Bible, it has a lot of different reading and video study and devotional plans.  Also, if you are not familiar with Catalyst, you should check them out as well – catalyst conference.com.  They are part of a great company focused on helping grow and develop leaders who love God and the local church.  They host a number of conferences across the country and put out a weekly podcast that I have been listening to for several years.  Great content and insightful information for a developing leader.

Today the scripture passage was 1 Corinthians 13:11-13 which talks about how God knows us completely and perfectly.  The devotional plan asked the question – “How does that impact your view of today’s challenges and priorities?”  Here are my reflections on this:

God knows me perfectly, the good and the bad.  He knows what’s best for me and what his purpose if for my life.  He knows my tendencies and how I will react and handle things if/when I try to do it on my own.  I can imagine him looking down from heaven and saying: “Turn left Pat” or “Keep that thought in your head Pat.”  I can picture him standing next to me waiting for me to ask him to join in.  I can also imagine his disappointment when I give in to myself and/or the world and mess it up again.  As a father myself, I can feel his compassion as he forgives me and helps me get back on my feet again.  Knowing this, I can be confident in facing any of the day’s challenges.  I really can’t fail because God is with me in all circumstances and, as it says in Phillipians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength!”

I hope this is helpful or encouraging for someone today.

Cheers,

 

Pat

Leave a Reply

